Hardcover Ä Mirrorland eBook Ô

Mirrorland A thrilling work of psychological suspense with the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is the story of twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind Cat lives in Los Angeles, about as far away as she can get from her estranged twin sister El and NoWesteryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where they grew up As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to the grand old house, which has scarcely changed in twenty years NoWesteryk Road is still full of shadowy, hidden corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on longheld secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues all over the house: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting A twisty, dark, and brilliantly crafted thriller about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge, Mirrorland is a propulsive, pageturning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom


About the Author: Carole Johnstone

Carole Johnstone’s award winning short fiction has appeared in annual “Best of” anthologies in the US and UK Her debut novel, Mirrorland, will be published in spring 2021 by Borough Press/HarperCollins in the UK and Commonwealth and by Scribner/Simon & Schuster in North America.She lives in Argyll and Bute, Scotland.More information can be found at carolejohnstone.com



10 thoughts on “Mirrorland

  1. says:

    Catriona returns to Edinburgh following her twin sister Ellice's death, and upon reentering their childhood home, the unsettling past of Cat and El's upbringing begins to come flooding back to her, practically chasing her in mysterious emails and cards left on the doorstep. Everything Cat tried to forget holds the answer to why her sister is dead. Mirrorland feels a bit l


  2. says:

    Thank you NetGalley and HarperCollins UK for granting me an e-galley of Mirrorland to review!

    Cat and El are identical twins supposedly able to sense even the slightest pain in one another. Throughout their childhood, they spent their lives inside a fantasy world Mirrorland - a world populated by pirates, outlaws, clowns, and prisoners. One fateful day, something happ


  3. says:

    Date reviewed: September 11, 2020

    When life for the entire universe and planet turns on its end and like everyone else you have nothing to do while your place of work is closed and you are continuing to be in #COVID19 #socialisolation, superspeed readers like me can read 250+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book … and many more today. And it is way too hot to go outsid


  4. says:

    This amazing debut novel opens with 11 year old twin girls cold, scared and alone late at night at a Scottish harbor in Edinburgh. All they will say are their first names and that they are waiting for a pirate ship. Twenty years later one of the twins, Catriona, is back in Scotland, for the first time in over 10 years. She is there because her twin, Ellice, has disappeared at sea and is presu


  5. says:

    Perhaps everyone's childhood memories are the same: part truth, part fantasy. But this house and our mother and her stories turned our imagination into a melting pot, a forge. A cauldron. And, I'm beginning to realize, I can trust nothing that came out of it.

    Cat and El are twins. Mirror twins according to their mother, identical in all ways and able to sense even the slightest pain in on


  6. says:

    Was lucky enough to get an advanced copy of this.

    Amazingly suspenseful. I'd say this is for fans of Gone Girl and Room with a bit of Stranger Things tossed into the mix. I loved the unreliable narrator and the fact that there's a major twist toward the end that I never saw coming.

    I loved it!


  7. says:

    It seems unfair to the author to say I was surprised by how much I enjoyed reading this but it’s the truth. Cat returns to her childhood home after her twin sister El goes missing and has to sort which memories are fact and which are fiction. At first I thought Mirrorland was a bit gimmicky but I really got drawn into the story as a whole and from the half way point I was totally engrossed. There was much here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top